How I long for Tuscany

Have you guys watched the movie “Under the Tuscan Sun?”

I found this quote in IMDB while trying to remember why I dreamed of Tuscany:

 Frances: Do you know the most surprising thing about divorce? It doesn’t actually kill you. Like a bullet to the heart or a head-on car wreck. It should. When someone you’ve promised to cherish till death do you part says “I never loved you,” it should kill you instantly. You shouldn’t have to wake up day after day after that, trying to understand how in the world you didn’t know. The light just never went on, you know. I must have known, of course, but I was too scared to see the truth. Then fear just makes you so stupid. 

Martini: No, it’s not stupid, Signora Mayes. L’amore e cieco. 

Frances: Oh, love is blind. Yeah, we have that saying too. 

Martini: Everybody has that saying because it’s true everywhere.”

 This was the time when the villa where Frances (Diane Lane) lives is being repaired. It was a very random circumstance. She took off to Carnota, Tuscany, found a villa for sale. After a few inspections, she found it in a very bad shape. I realized while watching the movie, just maybe, this is really a natural human characteristic. We sometimes become so random that we don’t think about the consequences of our actions. But just like how in the book “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho puts it, when you want something, the universe conspires for you to achieve it. Back then, Frances was really torn because of all the fluctuating failures she had. The relationship, the tour, the comment given to her by one of the tourist, her reviews to some books, reviews to her reviews. All of this adds up to the main idea that she was basically out of shape. But maybe, just maybe, at that moment, she thought that being spontaneous is the only way to move on. She did buy the house, and with the mercy of God and the universe, she lived and survived. Around the villa, things aren’t as normal as what we expect of a village. It was a very colorful place for me, even if the movie was kinda dull, so is the book.

The reason why I think the movie is colorful is because of its elements. The major character being the major catalyst, not only to herself but also to the people around her, the ambiance of the story, the feel of being in Tuscany especially in Cornota, the possibilities the movie present, the serendipitous moments that made the nights perfect, the lights of the village that elucidates the the once dull olive orchard, the colorful festival that allows lovers to find their way towards on another, the hopeless romantic writer and carpenter at the same time, the BOILING TOILET, and the faucet located on the wall of the living room. While I was watching the movie, the partition of presenting the life of one person in connection to Frances really made an impact to me. It connoted how my actions, relative to another person, is important, is inviolable, and the moment that I neglect my own instincts is the same moment I may lose the chance of learning about life from another person, the sun that changes the mood of one person and yet basks on the reality of life, pure of energy, sometimes dull, sometimes  lively. 

For example, a man changing the flowers by the altar of a saint. She learned a story, she learned a lot about the old man. She learned how love transgresses even death. She learned that even if there is a deviation of culture, and the single chance of finding love is still there, just like how the  Polish immigrant found love with a young Cortona girl. How he endured the drill of practicing their culture even if he is new to the place.

Point is, the movie Under the Tuscan Sun made me want to experience living the way Frances did. I want to know about myself, about life, not just from how my experiences plashes it, but from other people’s point of view and shoes, out look. Should I have a place to go 10 years from now, I would wish it to be Tuscany. True that Italy is undergoing an economic depression, it is the land of the mafias, but let’s not forget that it gave the world Pizza, Pasta, and artists. I only wish to retreat to Cornota, even if my stay would only be definite.


Thus, I WISH OF TUSCANY.

🙂

 

This is my work, so copyright (2012), intellectual property, ownership, all mine, except for the images.

Leave a Reply

