Freaky Monday and Final Destination Combined

Have you ever experienced Death? Wondered what it would be like to see the cloaked figure? Witnessed Death take someone from you? Witnessed Death itself? I think all of us once thought why the existence of man is limited. Today, I felt some of these questions answered. Yes, for a spur of a moment, flashbacks of my past suddenly made me treasure my life, and why I should not waste it.

While on my way home, I was feeling drowsy and took a light nap in the bus. All too suddenly, out of nowhere, a branch as huge as a young mango tree fell in front of our vehicle and almost took the lives of those sitting there, including the Bus Driver. If that happened, maybe we would have fallen off from the bridge just a few meters away from our spot. Things got serious when the lady passenger started crying because of a cut on her forehead. This incident made me thought my life, my death.

I was wondering why we fear death so much. It is inevitable, in fact, we can never escape it. Kuya Leigh told me, upon reading my status, that “Death is just invisible in front of us waiting to kiss us in any moment.” Death is the finality, and ultimatum life gives to us. I think it basically concludes that we need to live life not only with high hopes that tomorrow will be okay, but to live life believing every moment counts. Ma’am Agnes enunciated that in one of the homilies she attended, the value of time is for us to keep on moving while letting go.

We cannot leave [or live] peacefully because we always keep our attachments, the tangibility of our desires that we long to keep, the moment we cherish but we can never have again yet still in our hearts and spirits. There is truth in death, and in detachment we find our true purpose. The moment we let ourselves be consumed by the definite, by the temporary, by the time bound being, we can never see what could have been of us, because we include in our personhood something that is not part of us, an auxiliary of the externalities that should never invade us. If life was given to us the moment we were born, the adjacent phenomenon, death, is just beside us, around us. This is the reality we should face. We may be afraid of it, but the thing is the moment it’s there, we should welcome it like an old friend. Just like how the third brother in the story of “The Tale of the Three Brothers” did when he finally encountered Death. This mindset will keep us from being too attached with beings we shouldn’t associate ourselves too much.

Have I answered my questions? What I will tell you next is something that I recovered from my own archive of memories I never thought I have. I saw a dead person before. I was a kid back then. I know what a stiff muscle looks like, pale as white face means, and lifeless ambiance feels. It’s not his death that intrigues me, rather, the sorrow he caused to those around him. He was a grandfather. My grandfather. He was a husband, a cherished one. He was a father, maybe despised but still loved. That moment, his death, never really mattered to me, until this night’s event. Until I saw the possibility of death, that happening to me. Until I made my resolve.

If death is anywhere, we should all make sure our existence is not just for the sake of moving and simply detaching. We should grab every opportunity like there is no tomorrow, but most importantly, we should all become a source of positive causality to other people’s live. Sorrows are part of us and our actions. Losses are inevitable. But we have a moment, a now, we should face. This is our finality as of the moment, making a difference.

We should all leave the imprint, our legacy, of becoming a man made for other people. We should live like someone who’s life mattered not because he died, but because he made a difference even in his death.

This is my work, so copyright (2012), intellectual property, ownership, all mine, except for the images.

Leave a Reply

